The Social Network Mind Boggle

Kids Classics-my favorite childhood books

Posted on: May 18, 2011

Kids Classics-my favorite childhood books.

by Kerry L Daley, in response to seededbuzz member Jane Fordham’s   Seed entitled Memories….books I read as a child.
this article is a seededbuzz Buzz

Favorite Kids Books

What a delightful and welcomed invitation: What childhood books got you through your childhood and early adolescence?

Well, I still have ALL of my childhood books and was happy to take these two off the shelf , dust them off, and display them for this post.

It’s not just the story inside that I cherish but the actual books themselves. The way they smell and feel. The childish pencil marks inside the cover that, although fading, read ‘Kerry Lynn Daley my Best Book’. 

Charlotte’s  Webb, written by E.B. White , illustrated by Garth Williams, copyright 1952 and originally published by Harper & Row.

It’s still being printed 60 years later.

I must have read this book 50 times during my childhood and early adolescent. I could not get enough of the love, sympathy, compassion, and determination that each page brings.  I see now that Charlotte shows the same kind of concern and compassion for Wilbur that I feel for the people of whom I advocate everyday. I am one of those people who ‘always votes for the underdog’ simply because they are the underdog. 

The Doll Of Lilac Valley, written by Cora Cheney and illustrated by Carol Beech, was first published in 1958  by Alfred A Knopf.

It is a delightful story about a little girl who goes to visit relatives for the summer. She takes along her trusted companion, a doll named Kathleen, and during the long bus ride, they get separated.

Oh how I related to loneliness and the pain of separation. The agony of  having to face the world with a great big hole in my heart, missing so deeply those whom I loved and cried for.  I would read the chapters and study the illustrations and feel deep empathy for little Laurie all the while looking forward to the profoundly happy reunion at the end.

These are the books that came to mind as I read Jane’s post. I am grateful for the opportunity to remember and acknowledge why these particular books were my favorites and to share what they meant to me as a child and as an adult.

Here is another buzz on the same topic seed. It’s written by Wealie’s World entitled My Favourite Childrens Books.  Wealie describes her top ten favorite childrens books and provides links to buy them. 

And finally, here are links to related articles as recommended by WordPress.com.

2 Responses to "Kids Classics-my favorite childhood books"

[…] Kids Classics-my favorite childhood books (kerrydaley.wordpress.com) […]

Thanks for the link up Kerry. Oh I loved Charlotte’s Webb too, that’s definately a classic!
Jayne

Leave a Reply

Welcome – Who What Where Why

Drag mouse to see my profile.

Tweet Tweet Tweet

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Seeded Buzz

Market your blog at SeededBuzz

Vote for me by clicking my picket fence.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 2,005 hits
