The Social Network Mind Boggle

Walks like a niche, talks like a niche, must be a niche.

Posted on: April 5, 2011

A view of the Life Sciences Gallery.

Image via Wikipedia

In researching niche ideas I came upon a  study by Deloitte Center for Life Sciences entitled:

  to friend or not? New insights about social networks in the life sciences industry.  

As I read the publication I kept thinking  “here’s an opportunity”,  “here’s an unchartered market” , “here is a large professional population that has not jumped on the social networking buzz.” 

It seems to me that if most life science professionals are not on Facebook and/or Tweeting, a little education and encouragement might be all that’s needed to get them going.  

Luckily, I have personal knowledge into why such professionals are leery, not falling for it, or uninterested.  I have a dear friend who is a practicing chiropractor. I looked her up recently in search engines and was unable to find her using a variety of search terms.

Finally I typed in her name and landed not on her website but on a medical network directory that included her office address and phone number only.  Apparently practitioners need to join the directory to update their profile. hmmm.

I then typed in her url and made a quick exploration of her business website. The thing I noticed most was its lack of social networking links.

I spoke with my friend, a life science professional, and asked why she wasn’t doing any social networking. I quickly found out that she considered  ‘the little social media icons  disruptive and annoying’.  

So to all you internet entrepreneurs looking for a target audience, here is a large group of potential customers for Social Network set-up…an  unchartered market brimming with possibilities.

Read the Deloitte Research Paper in .pdf:  us_consulting_tofriendornot_010611

Leave a Reply

Welcome – Who What Where Why

Drag mouse to see my profile.

Tweet Tweet Tweet

Seeded Buzz

Market your blog at SeededBuzz

Vote for me by clicking my picket fence.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 1,994 hits
